Battery charging

Hustler

So, according to my owner's manual the battery is a Valve Regulated Lead Acid type and a special, constant voltage, battery charger is required.

So does this mean I can no longer use my trusty Optimate for charging ?

And if so, where does one get one of these new fangled chargers from and what are they called and what do they cost ?

Thank you.

Will145

I'm sorry buddy but I'm not too sure. My charger is specifically designed for motorcycle battery's - it goes onto a trickle charge when the battery is fully charged. In my eyes a battery is a battery and as long as it's fully charged it should work! I guess the damage is done in over charging but I'm not an expert

Last edited:

Hustler

I'm sorry buddy but I'm not too sure. My charger is specifically designed for motorcycle battery's - it goes onto a trickle charge when the battery is fully charged. In my eyes a battery is a battery and as long as it's fully charged it should work! I guess the damage is done in over charging but I'm not an expert
The Optimate is a trickle charger for motorcycle batteries so probably OK but I'm going to the dealer next Tuesday for my 600 mile service so I'll ask when I'm there.

Will145

I'd be interested to hear what they have to say so let us know!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ralph

There's nothing out of the ordinary about the MT battery,
what I have done with the last 4 of my bikes is to connect
a Optimate type "I cant be bothered going out to the garage
and look" but it's one of the well know ones, but I connect it
then plug it in via one of those cheap 24 hour timers set to
come on for a hour a day, I have done this for about 3 or 4
years on each bike and never had a battery problem.

Will145

That's what I was thinking . A battery is a battery. Should be fine

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hustler

I expect the Optimate will be fine but I will check with the dealer next week and report back.

Thanks for the replies.

Jon