First couple of rides

Delton100

Bike was delivered on Thursday from Colin Appleyard Keighley all controls explained, Datataged. First ride 50 miles can only compare to Triumph as I have been riding this for last ten years. Triumph has long gears Yam short first 3 need to change quickly to avoid jerks. very smooth on the go keeping under 5000 revs, nice & light. Brakes same as Triumph which was a suprise ( Twin leading shoe on Triumph) Bike looks great in Purple has good mirrors & has a good level of finish. Second ride to-day 70 miles after a long country run approaching junction main road made a mistake thought I was on the Triumph came nearly to a stand in second & when road clear opened up bike stalled & I lost balance & bike went down no damage or scratches apart from pride a passing motorist helped pick it up heavy when on ground. So warning please approach in first with a few revs & ready to stop if required. As I get used to it I think its going to be a great bike.

cosmikdebriis

Ouch... Sorry to hear that.

I own a few British bikes including a pre unit Thunderbird and can only say the torque is VERY different. You can quote figures if FT LBS of N-m but it doesn't mean a thing in comparison.

When I got mine I didn't want to "lug" it about as advised by my dealer so kept the revs in a fairly narrow band between three to five grand until first service. Compared to a Brit bike this can seem quite "revvy" but I soon got used to it. Now I find it will "lug" amazingly well. I was out today with some mates, one on a BSA C12, another on an Ariel 650 twin and the other on a Indian V Twin special. I found I could "Lug" with the best of them right down to very low revs. The big difference was that (when circumstances allowed) and they revved out at 5k my bike was just coming to life. Bit of an unfair comparison I know but mention it as I just wanted to say that, as a confirmed Brit bike rider, I still love the little Yam.