FZ-07 - Initial impression and comparisons (long post)

pgeldz

Hello fellas – and you ladies out there too :)

Wanted to introduce myself and give my thoughts and initial impressions on the FZ-07, as I just had a short test ride back to back with other naked bikes I’m considering. I’ll detail my thoughts below, but first a little background on me so you have a better understanding of where I’m coming from…

I’ve been riding on and off for nearly 30 years now. Bikes I’ve owned, in order:

1986 Kawasaki Ninja 250R
1988 Suzuki GSX-R 750
2000 Yamaha R6
2001 Suzuki SV-650 (fully modified, daily driven club racer style)

By far, the best bike…well let’s say the most “FUN” bike on that list was the SV-650 naked. I had the whole bike gone through by an ex-suspension technician that worked for the HRC GP team back in the day. Needless to say, the bike handled better than the R6…and the torque, AMAZING. Bike pulled hard as hell, but was slightly buzzy at the very top of the rev range.

I sold the SV about 2 years ago, and regret every minute of it. I figured enough time has passed where I’m in the market for another bike…another naked. Why naked? I’ll answer that in the form of an analogy – The best camera is the one you take with you. You can have the best digital SLR camera known to man, but if it’s too bulky and you find yourself leaving it behind for a point and shoot instead, well than then the point and shoot camera has become the ‘best’ camera, so why not shop around for the best point and shoot camera out there?

That’s how I feel with motorcycles. I used to love the supersports…ala crotch rockets, but realistically their performance envelope is too high for the street to get the most fun from – and the street is where most people do the bulk, if not all, of their riding. I found myself never riding the R6 unless I was going to the canyons, but the SV I took everywhere, including the canyons.