Your riding history

Phil_B

I thought I'd start a thread for members to share their biking history; riding experience, previous bikes, any accidents or tales, etc.

I'm a relatively new rider having passed my test in October last year. So mine shouldn't take long!

I learned on one of those DAS courses in June 2013 and had a great time, but buggered up the MOD1 so had to retake. I've been driving since I was 17 in 2002 though and do quite a lot of miles, so was happy enough on the road.

Big bike experience was limited to those BMW F700s they had (nice bikes but not cheap), and this winter I nearly bought an SV650, ER6F, Hornet, XJ6 and V-Strom. (Call me indecisive!)

Before that I had a YBR125 for 18 months to get used to bikes etc. Sometimes you could get into it and it was great. But barely keeping up with traffic was rubbish! So I saved that for quiet weekends. The MT is already getting much more use.

L

Lonerider

Well, let's see.

I started on a my uncle's Yamaha MX80. Than my father bought me a Yamaha YZ80. Loved it. I used to ride on hard pack snowmobiles trails. My first street bike was a Yamaha Seca 750. The air cooled motor didn't like trail riding. A couple years later, i regularly went on forest roads with my Yamaha Seca II. The look of the pick-up drivers was priceless. The same bike was used for track days. Not quite a proper bike for this. The suspension was way too soft. I replaced the Seca with a SV650S. Superb bike. Track days, long trips, i loved it except for the too low clip-on. I did quit my share of road trips. The call of the wild came back stronger. So the V-Strom was my next purchase. It did several things well. But trail riding was not. I tooked about 30 minutes to get out of mud hole. Weight is everything, not horsepower for this environment. Road trips is not anymore on my menu since a few years. So , ...